Top Health Administration Scholarships

The cost of higher education continues to rise, forcing students to take up a considerable amount of debt to fulfill their dream of getting a quality education. Debt can take decades to repay, and most of a student’s life is spent worrying about it after graduation. This affects on their quality of life, as they struggle to make ends meet. Fortunately for health administration students, there’s an increasing number of scholarship opportunities.

Scholarships are a boon for students, as they help them afford an education without a mountain of debt. What’s more, many have easy applications. Most scholarships need students to submit their professional and academic records, a resume, letters of recommendation, and an essay.

Graduate-level scholarships in particular can cover a large portion of the tuition for a quality master’s in health administration (MHA) program. Students committed to making a career in healthcare administration can get a big boost from these scholarships.

Here are the top ten scholarships in healthcare administration, divided into general, regional, and demographic categories. To qualify for this list, the scholarship must award $2,500 or more and be open to students of health administration or management.

National Health Administration Scholarships

Healthcare Information Management Systems Foundation Scholarship

  • Amount: $5,000
  • Deadline: Summer 2018
  • What to Know: The HIMSS awards three scholarships, one each at the undergraduate, master’s, and doctorate level. Recipients receive $5,000 and an all-expenses-paid trip to the Annual HIMSS Conference.
  • Who Should Apply: The applicant must be a member of HIMSS. They should be enrolled in an accredited undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral program, in health information or management systems.

Harry J. Harwick Scholarship

  • Amount: $3,500
  • Deadline: May 5, 2018
  • What to Know: The American College of Medical Practice Executives (ACMPE) sponsors the Harry J. Harwick Scholarship. The ACMPE supports students and individuals who make (or intend to make) meaningful contributions to the Medical Group Management Association’s (MGMA) mission of improving healthcare.
  • Who Should Apply: Students applying for the scholarship must be enrolled in a program related to medical practice management, such as healthcare administration, public health, or business administration, at the graduate or undergraduate level.

David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarship

  • Amount: $10,000
  • Deadline: April 1, 2018
  • What to Know: Since 1987, the David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarship identifies and honors students committed to the field of health policy. Its purpose is to increase the number of students receiving quality healthcare education.
  • Who Should Apply: To apply, an applicant must be a U.S. citizen. Those pursuing graduate programs in health policy, business, economics, public policy, health administration, and law are encouraged to apply.

Vivian Drenckhahn Scholarship

  • Amount: $2,500
  • Deadline: September 30, 2018
  • What to Know: The Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) is a non-profit organization offering the Vivian Drenckhahn Scholarship to students excelling in health education. The SOPHE is committed to building skills and knowledge that help health educators deal with public health emergencies.
  • Who Should Apply: The scholarship is awarded to students in need of financial assistance, and holding a national SOPHE membership for at least three months. On winning the scholarship, the students must take part in a national SOPHE-sponsored committee or task force.

The Haynes Rice Scholarship Award

  • Amount: $2,500
  • Deadline: May 29, 2018
  • What to Know: The National Association of Health Services Executives (NAHSE) awards this scholarship to students pursuing a career in healthcare management or a related field. Since money can often be a barrier to education, it aims to help students with financial needs.
  • Who Should Apply: Applicants to this scholarship must either be enrolled or admitted in an accredited college program, pursuing a bachelor or master of science, or doctoral degree, with a major in healthcare administration or a related field. They must also demonstrate a financial need, have a minimum GPA of 3.0, and be a NAHSE member.

The Ellis Bonner Scholarship Award

  • Amount: $2,500
  • Deadline: May 29, 2018
  • What to Know: The Ellis Bonner Award is another scholarship awarded by the NAHSE. This special category award recognizes exceptional leadership skills and academic achievement among non-traditional graduate students, who wish to make a mark in healthcare management.
  • Who Should Apply: To apply for this scholarship, an applicant must be enrolled or accepted in an accredited bachelor of science, master of science, or doctorate program, in healthcare management or a related subject. The applicant should also be a member of NAHSE, have a minimum GPA of 3.0, and demonstrate financial need.

Tylenol Future Care Scholarship

  • Amount: $5,000 to $10,000
  • Deadline: June 28, 2018
  • What to Know: The makers of Tylenol have supported students pursuing healthcare degrees for more than 20 years. They award half a million dollars each year to 40 exceptional students dedicated to healthcare.
  • Who Should Apply: Applicants must be residents of the 50 United States, Puerto Rico or the District of Columbia. They must be enrolled in a graduate or undergraduate program, pursuing health education, public health, medical school, or a pharmacy degree program, and have one or more years of education remaining. Selection criteria for the scholarship include college GPA, academic records in health education, public health, medical school, as well as volunteer work.

Foster G. McGaw Scholarship

  • Amount: $5,000
  • Deadline: March 31, 2018
  • What to Know: The American College of Healthcare Executives offers this scholarship to healthcare management students, honoring Foster G. McGaw, the founder of the American Hospital Supply Corporation.
  • Who Should Apply: Students who are citizens of Canada or the U.S. and demonstrate financial need are eligible to apply for this scholarship. To apply, students must be enrolled in their final year of study in a graduate healthcare management program.

Regional Health Administration Scholarships

Gil Dupre Scholarship

  • Amount: $2,500 to $10,000
  • Deadline: November 7, 2018
  • What to Know: The Gil Dupre Graduate Student Scholarship is sponsored by the Louisiana Association of Health Plans. The main aim of the scholarship is to promote careers and education in the field of health insurance and health benefits.
  • Who Should Apply: Applicants must be residents of Louisiana and committed to the health industry, with a minimum GPA of 3.0. They must be enrolled in their final year of study, in an MBA, healthcare management, healthcare administration, or related graduate management program. Additionally, applicants should be US citizens and demonstrate a need for financial aid.

Demographic-Specific Health Administration Scholarships

The Bachrach Family Scholarship for Excellence in Healthcare Administration

  • Amount: $5,000
  • Deadline: April 2, 2018
  • What to Know: The Bachrach Family Scholarship for Excellence in Healthcare Administration was established to honor the areas and institutions that played a role in the success of David and Linda Bachrach.
  • Who Should Apply: Students applying for this scholarship must be enrolled on a full-time basis in a CAHME-accredited residential graduate program in healthcare administration and must be in their second year of study. Female applicants, students who need financial help, and those who are first in their family to pursue a graduate degree are given preference. Selection is based on college GPA and commitment to healthcare and healthcare management.